Globe Theatre

When I looked out the window yesterday I just saw a cloudy and rainy day. Oh no! Today was a day for my visit to Globe Theatre, the open theatre with no roof! I received two tickets to see Romeo and Juliet, however I didn’t know what seats we will get. Luckily we have seats under the roof, despite the cold weather, the Shakespeare’s atmosphere was in the air.
Good idea to bring a blanket next time.

Romeo and Juliet in a modern version was a great experience to see. Well done to all the young actors who learnt the language of Shakespeare’s play.

You can see the story can be very relevant today, with confilcts, fight between teenagers, knife crime; bmx bikes; designer clothes; Ne-Yo songs, Batman, Robin, Darth Vader, police and many more props.

This performance is a great introduction to Shakespeare for young people. The theatre also created interactive web resources, which can be used by students and teachers in classrooms   Romeo and Juliet resources

I agree with Giles Block (Globe Acssociate) – And as we hear these lines, rhyme once more holds us in its frozen grasp: 

A glooming peace this morning with it brings,
The sun for sorrow will not show his head;
Go hence, to have more talk of these sad things,
 Some shall be pardoned, and some punished.
 For never was a story more of woe,
Than this of Juliet, and her Romeo.

2 thoughts on “Globe Theatre

  1. The Globe is incredible! I’m glad I didn’t go on a rainy day though, I was in the pit – standing room only. I was lucky enough to stand right in front of the stage though, seeing As You Like It. Maybe a bit too close though, the jester nearly kicked me doing his dance haha!
    That adaptation of Romeo and Juliet sounds so interesting, and I love your photos 😀

Leave a Reply

