A Bigger Splash

Finally I visited Tate Modern today to see A Bigger Splash Painting after Performance. 

It looks at the dynamic relationship between painting and performance since the 1950s, and how experiments in performance have expanded the possibilities for contemporary paining. 

There is plenty of nudity, however I think the exhibitions is still great for children, to learn that painting is a long process and involves lots of hard work,  an act of applying paint to canvas can itself be a form of performance, as well as the reinvention of paintings as a collaborative or ritualistic action. 

The exhibition opens with two painintgs from Tate collection.

Jakson Pollock, Summertime: Number 9A, 1948

Summertime

It’s an Abstract Expressionism – where art should be a form of spontaneous personal expression. On the exhibition you can see for yourself how Pollock created this piece. For him it was almost like a trance, he said: “When I am in my painting, I’m not aware of what I’m doing.It’s only after a sort of ‘get acquainted’ period that I see what I have been about. I have no fears about making changes… because the paining has a life of its own”.

David Hockney, A Bigger Splash, 1960

A Bigger Splash

I could look at this painting for hours. Sunny California, relaxed life, turquoise sky and you can actually hear the splash!!! The colours are perfect, the paining becomes an artificial backdrop that opens up a theatrical space, implying the viewer’s entrance into its fictional world. Hockney said: “I paint what I like, where I like and when I like”, he was always ready to experiment with new techniques.

in the last room yo will find Lucy McKenzie Mrs Diack, 2010.

Mrs.Diack

The paintings at once create a space that the viewer might inhabit and represent a traditional form of paining that invokes illusional representation. 

It was also a nice surpise to see so many Polish artists such as Edward Krasinski, Wiktor Gutt, Waldemar Raniszewski and Eva Partum:

I must mention the work by:
Jutta Koether, The Inside Job, 1991

The Inside Job

Marc Camille Chaimowicz, Jean Cocteau…, 2003-12. One of his inspirations was Edourad Vuillard, Sunlit Interior, also on display.

Bedroom

Edouard Vuillard

More pictures:

Leave a Reply

